Stossel: Why I am a libertarian

Police barricades are everywhere these days. If you want to watch the Fourth of July fireworks in New York City, you may no longer just gather with friends and have a picnic. Police herd spectators into barricaded pens, and if people try to climb out to use a bathroom, cops yell: “Stop! Once you’re in, you’re in.”

I doubt that such “security theater” makes us safer. If terrorists want to make a statement, they will find other locations.

Government always grows. Police departments are no exception. The incentive is always: do  more. Politicians reason, “If anything goes wrong, I’ll be blamed. Someone else pays for prevention, though, so I’ll take every precaution.”

Click forth and read all:

via Why I am a libertarian, not a Democrat or a Republican | Fox News.

